Price’s ‘super six’ equals his ‘best ever’

Caption: Trainer Tracie Price landed six winners at Mount Gambier (from left) Charley Davidson (Kevin Patzel), Compton Fabio (Dean Fennell), Minnie Banjo (Mel Freitag), Compton Ruby (Karen Price), Compton Casey (Mo Canala) and Whole Way (Tracie Price).

Chase writer MIKE HILL tracks the trainers who recorded multiple-winners at a single track across the past month

TRACIE Price has equalled his best-ever winning haul, rugging up a ‘super six’ at a 12-race meeting at Mount Gambier’s Tara Raceway.

The Compton-based conditioner last recorded six winners at the same track back in  2015.

Price was one of three trainers to land a ‘big six’ in recent weeks. He was joined by top Victorian trainer Andrea Dailly and Central Queensland’s Ken Boody.

In a memorable opening night to the Australian Cup Carnival last month, Dailly trained ‘half the card’, including Gypsy Wyong – victorious in the $75,000-to-the-winner TAB Zoom Top (725m).

The win made up for the Anakie-based trainer’s recent placings in the rich staying feature – Dyna Kayla’s second in 2014 and third placings with Sunset Bourbski  last year and Shimaguni in 2012.

Gypsy Wyong (Jul ’19 Westmead Hawk-Dyna Gypsy) had previously won the G1 Bold Trease and G1 Topgun Stayers. She was also third in the G1 Hume Cup and won the G3 Top Cat Video Cup.

She’s the eighth female greyhound to win the Zoom Top in the event’s 20-year history.

Gypsy Wyong, after mixed success in Brisbane leading into the event, ‘stalked’ early leader Untapped before unleashing a powerful finishing burst.

Starting at the amazing odds of $9.30 for a stayer of her calibre, Gypsy Wyong defeated NSW star Line Of Quality ($13), which flew home for second, failing by 0.4 lengths, with Untapped ($6.60) a further 1.75 lengths away third in 42.54sec.

It was her 17th win from 36 starts and she’s now three from five over The Meadows 725m trip. Her stakes have climbed to $380,765.

Dailly’s other winners were Zivon Bale ($8.60), Daph’s Zac ($9), Zara’s Ivan $2.20 fav, Qwara Bale ($2.30 fav) and Americano Miss ($3.50).

Price was successful with Charley Davidson ($2 fav), Compton Fabio ($8), Whole Way ($4.80), Compton Casey ($3), Minnie Banjo ($3) and Compton Ruby ($5).

Charley Davidson was having race start 103 and the victory took his career record to 22 wins and 38 placings.

The son of Barcia Bale-Oriental Jewel led all the way to bring up his sixth consecutive win over the 305m short course at Tara Raceway.

Meanwhile, Boody, with his half-dozen winners, has opened up a commanding lead in the Rockhampton trainer’s premiership after just two months of racing.

His ‘six’ – Foxy One ($1.85 fav), Perfect Mate ($2.80), Zip Stream ($1.25 fav), Tiger Talks ($1.95 fav), Rosa’s Laugh ($1.50 fav) and Daisy Cousin ($10) – followed a ‘Magnificent Seven’ at Callaghan Park in January.

He also produced five placings as well as a quinella.

As of late last month, Boody had led in 29 winners for 2022, 16 more than his nearest rival Clint Thompson (13 wins).

Four trainers – Brad Belford (at Townsville), Gary Johnson (Devonport), Paul Smith (Townsville) and Bill McMahon (Traralgon) – rugged up five winners each at their local tracks.

Anyone lucky enough to have had a dollar all-up on Johnson’s five – Buckle Up Zion ($2.25), Buckle Up Elise ($11), Mono’s Mystique ($10), Buckle Up Logan ($3.50) and the roughie On The Beers ($91) – would have collected an amazing $78,828.75.

A group of trainers landed a quartet of winners at various meetings across the country – Ken Boody (at Rockhampton, twice), Peter Brown (Cannington), Andrea Dailly (Geelong, twice, The Meadows twice), Gregg Mills (Wagga), Paul Smith (Townsville), James Jeffries (Mandurah), Lauren Harris (Murray Bridge), Clint Thompson (Rockhampton), Brad Belford (Townsville), Tracie Price (Mt Gambier) and Steele Bolton (Darwin).

Winning trebles are becoming more like the norm for many trainers.

Those landing trios included:

Victoria: Andrea Dailly (The Meadows twice, Geelong), Brett Mackie (Horsham), Bill McMahon (Sale), Mark Delbridge (Sale), Jeff Britton (Ballarat), Correy Grenfell (Geelong), Rebecca Gibbons (Warrnambool), Robert Camilleri (Sale).

NSW: Darren Sultana (Bathurst), Mark Davidson (Maitland), Melanie Mabbott (Taree, Gunnedah), Andrew Bell (Dapto twice, Bulli), Cristos Arletos (Richmond), Andrew Monaghan (Casino), Allan Woods (The Gardens), Jodie Lord (Wentworth Park), Peter Sims (Temora twice), Tony Forbes (Taree).

Queensland: Tony Brett (Albion Park), Pauline Byers (Ipswich), Sandra Hunt (Albion Park), Paul Smith (Townsville), Andrew Wooler (Townsville), Ken Boody (Rockhampton twice), Clint Thompson (Rockhampton), Brad Belford (Townsville), Darren Taylor (Rockhampton).  

SA: Rebecca Romyn (Angle Park), David Peckham (Murray Bridge, Mt Gambier), Vadim Roz (Gawler), Tracie Price (Mt Gambier twice), Ben Rawlings (Murray Bridge twice), Mark Roberts (Mt Gambier), Troy Murray (Gawler), Cameron Butcher (Murray Bridge), Steve Brook (Gawler).

WA: James Jeffries (Cannington), Peter Brown (Cannington), Ben Maclean (Cannington), Chris Halse (Mandurah twice) Rodney Noden (Cannington), Jacqueline Wilson (Mandurah) .

Tasmania: David Crosswell (Launceston), Anthony Bullock (Launceston, Hobart), Ed Medhurst (Hobart twice), Blake Pursell (Devonport). NT: Steele Bolton (Darwin twice), Adam Poulter (Darwin twice), Andrew Lasker (Darwin), Ron Phillips (Darwin).



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit

Social Media

Chase News Subscribe (it's free!)
Scroll to Top