Bolton bags big five … twice in Top End

MIKE HILL tracks the most successful trainers across Australasia over the past month

TOP End greyhound trainer Steele Bolton was on fire rugging up five winners at consecutive Darwin meetings during the month.

Team Bolton dominated a seven-race mid-week program with a winning quintet, two trifectas and two quinellas.

The kennel was successful with a trio of hot fancies – Shining On Fire ($1.50), Esla’s Esla ($1.50) and Midnight Vandal ($1.30) – as well as the $22 outsider Victory Arrow and Good Charlotte ($7.10).

Four nights later Bolton produced another ‘big five’ and a quinella.

His winners included favourites Quake ($2.60), Misdemeanor ($1.70), Myrtle’s Monelli ($1.70) and Midnight Vandal ($2.30) as well as the $10 chance Get A Shout.

Bolton, who also prepared a winning quartet, has already opened a commanding lead over his rivals in this year’s Darwin trainers’ premiership.

South Australia’s David Peckham headed a group of trainers lucky enough to lead in four winners at their local tracks.

Not satisfied with doing it once or even twice, Peckham managed three ‘big fours’ within a fortnight at his home track at Mount Gambier.

It also helped him close the gap on Tracie Price – the current leading trainer at Tara Raceway.

However, Price responded with four of his own later in the month.

Other trainers landing winning quartets were Andrea Dailly (at Geelong), John Thompson (Ipswich), Ken Boody (Rockhampton) and Chris Halse (Mandurah).

Treble winners:

Victoria: Aaron Debottista (Shepparton), Bill McMahon (Sale), Lindsay Fulford (Warragul twice), Greg Doyle (Shepparton), Dawn Johnston (Sale), Andrea Dailly (The Meadows), Paul Abela (Bendigo), Robert Camilleri (Ballarat, Geelong), Rebecca Gibbons (Ballarat), Jessica Sharp (Geelong), Dave Burnett (Warrnambool) and James Shaw (Shepparton).

NSW: Jack Trengove (Broken Hill), Graham Thurkettle (Temora), Evelyn Harris (Grafton), Tania Trappett (Gunnedah), Kim Mulrine (Wagga), Barry Gibbons (Bulli), Peter Rodgers (Gosford), Melanie Mabbott (Taree), Charlie Northfield (Moree twice), Meredith Verhagen (Moree) and Pamela Braddon (Bathurst).

Queensland: Darren Johnstone (Ipswich), Matt Heilbronn (Ipswich), Carol Pickard (Townsville), Christine Pollard (Rockhampton twice), Glen Olsen (Townsville), Robert Jacobsen (Bundaberg), Clint Thompson (Rockhampton twice), Cyndie Elson (Ipswich), Keith Boan (Ipswich), Travis Elson (Bundaberg) and Tony Brett (Ipswich).

SA: Kevin Bewley (Gawler twice), Troy Murray (Gawler), Jason Newman (Mt Gambier), Tim Richards (Murray Bridge) and Ben Rawlings (Angle Park).

WA: Brad Cook (Mandurah), Andrew McLaren (Mandurah twice), James Jeffries (Mandurah), Lexia Isaac (Cannington), Enzo  Crudeli  (Cannington) and Jacqueline Wilson (Mandurah).

Tasmania: Anthony Bullock (Launceston twice), Gary Johnson (Launceston twice), Blake Pursell (Hobart) and Josh Wright (Hobart).

NT: Ron Phillips (Darwin).





For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit

Social Media

Chase News Subscribe (it's free!)
Scroll to Top