Braddon duo on fire at Dubbo

\"\"Caption: Leading NSW country trainer Paul Braddon 

MIKE HILL tracks the multiple-winning trainers across Australia

THE powerful kennels of  Paul and Pamela Braddon dominated  the Lesley Ann Leonard Memorial Series heats meeting at Dubbo last month.

Team Braddon won six of the 10 races run after two races were abandoned because of a lure malfunction.

Paul rugged up three of the four winners in the Memorial series, while Pam led in three successive winners later in the meeting.

They won every race they had a runner in and added two quinellas and a third placing in an amazing night of racing.

Paul was successful with Swift Justice ($2.20 fav), Shelly Swift ($6) and Unlock The Fury ($3.30 fav), while Pam\’s winners were Lightning Blazer ($4), Blazing Liza ($2.10 fav) and Benny Bow ($6.90).

The Cowra-based couple, one of the most successful training teams in country NSW, are dominating the Dubbo trainers premiership this year.

Pam currently heads the table with 436 points (32 wins, 19 seconds and 20 thirds) 80 points in front of Paul on 356 (27-14-15) with Amanda Ginn in third place (316) after Paul narrowly lost last year\’s title to Charmaine Roberts.

\”Paul and Pam do a great job with their dogs,\” Dubbo Greyhound Racing Club president Shayne Stiff said.

\”They\’ve got a speedy, nice breed that suit the 300 or 400 (metres) and they\’re just good trainers who are hard to beat in anything they go in.\”

The Braddons weren\’t the only kennel to dominate racing in the past month or so.

Gunning-based trainer Jodie Lord landed a \’big five\’ at Wentworth Park, while SA-based  Rebecca Romyn rugged up a winning quintet at Murray Bridge.

Lord\’s winners included Bandit Belle ($1.70 fav), Cawbourne Turvey ($2.80), One Smart One ($2.30 fav), Cruiser Model ($3.40) and Winlock On Top ($1.35 fav), while Romyn was the punters\’ pal, leading in a handful of favourites – Reel It In ($1.30), Hovey\’s Bourbon ($1.35), Ransom\’s Pride ($1.15), Zipping Sheba ($1.65) and Agronomous ($1.75).

Later in the month Romyn had another big day at Murray Bridge with four winners – a feat achieved by a group of trainers across the country.

They included Bill McMahon (at Warragul), Ben Rawlings (Murray Bridge), Adam Smithson (Cannington), Ron Phillips (Darwin), David Peckham (Mt Gambier, twice), Ed Medhurst (Launceston), Jess Fothergill (Warrnambool), Andrew Bell (Richmond), Jeff Britton (Geelong), Tracie Price (Mt Gambier), Dallas Beckett (Rockhampton), Darryl McGrath (Albion Park), Michelle Mallia-Magri (Ballarat), Anthony Bullock (Launceston) and Lexia Isaac (Cannington).

The Elsons, mum Cyndie and son Travis, had a day out at Albion Park winning half the 10-race program.

Travis led in a trio of winners while Cyndie collected a double and a host of trainers rugged up winning trebles in most states.

NSW: Jodie Lord (Goulburn, Wentworth Park), Jason Mackay (Richmond), Stephen Fitch (Nowra), Barry Gibbons (Bulli), John Catton (Grafton), John Finn (Richmond), Graham Thurkettle (Temora), James Porter (Maitland), Simon Rhodes (Dapto) and Michael Clayton (Nowra).

Victoria: Michelle Mallia-Magri (Geelong, Warrnambool), Mark Delbridge (Ballarat), Jeff Britton (Warrnambool), Ben Magri (Geelong), Sam Grenfell (Geelong), Ron Fisher (Warrnambool), Andrea Dailly (Ballarat twice, Cranbourne, Geelong), Deborah Coleman (Ballarat), Graeme Jose (Bendigo) and Peter Frost (Shepparton).

SA: Kevin Bewley (Mt Gambier), Lauren Harris (Murray Bridge twice), Tony Rasmussen (Murray Bridge), Jack Trengove (Mt Gambier), Tracie Price (Mt Gambier twice), Rebecca Romyn (Murray Bridge), Tim Richards (Angle Park), Yvonne King (Mt Gambier) and Matt Payne (Angle Park).

WA: Barry McPherson (Cannington), David Hobby (Cannington, Mandurah) and Damien Crudeli (Mandurah).

Queensland: Terry Priest (Capalaba), Cyndie Elson (Albion Park three times), Andrew Wooler (Townsville), Rhonda Essery (Townsville), Amber Boody (Rockhampton), Pauline Byers (Ipswich), Darryl McGrath (Albion Park), Juanita Thompson (Rockhampton), Brad Woods (Ipswich), Brad Belford (Townsville), Robert Lound (Townsville) and Ray Burman (Ipswich).

Tasmania: Blake Pursell (Devonport, Hobart), Anthony Bullock (Launceston twice) and Butch Deverell (Launceston).

NT: Andrew Lasker (Darwin) and Adam Poulter (Darwin).



For free and confidential support call 1800 858 858 or visit

Social Media

Chase News Subscribe (it's free!)
Scroll to Top